Data for the academic year 2021/2022 added to the ETER dataset

The European Tertiary Education Register (ETER) data for the academic year 2021/2022 are now available online. With this release, ETER provides longitudinal data for the period 2011-2021; this allows examining changes over time in European higher education. The ETER perimeter covers all 27 European Union member states, EEA-EFTA countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland), and candidate countries (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, the Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey), as well as the UK, Holy See and Andorra, for a total of 41 countries and about 3500 higher education institutions. For almost all countries included in ETER, data for 2021 is already available online.

Map illustrating ETER coverage

The latest release includes several additional updates to further improve the ETER dataset:

  • Expanded Slovenia data (years 2017-2021 added)
  • Enhanced Hungary data (years 2020-2021 added)
  • Increased coverage for Kosovo, Latvia, and Norway